9th BerkeleyGW Tutorial Workshop 


4th Berkeley Excited States Conference (BESC2023)


We are happy to have you join us for the 9th BerkeleyGW Tutorial Workshop and the 4th Berkeley Excited States Conference (BESC2023), in an in-person/virtual online hybrid format this time. Time: February 13 - 15, 2023 (Tutorial Workshop) and February 16 - 17, 2023 (BESC2023 Conference).

Similar to last year, this year we will have a 3-day workshop (instructions and hands-on) + a 2-day conference. Please see the Registration information at the bottom of this page.


BerkeleyGW Tutorial Workshop

Three-day workshop with instructions (in-person and virtual) and hands-on sessions (in-person only). Computing resources and temporary training accounts at NERSC will be provided.

Workshop Time: February 13 - 15, 2023, Pacific Standard Time

Location: Cal State East Bay Oakland Center, Oakland, CA, USA

                 Zoom ID & password will be provided to registered participants only

The target participants for the Workshop are graduate students, postdocs, and researchers who are interested in learning about or sharpening their skills on ab initio calculations of many-electron effects in excited-state properties of condensed matter.

Tutorial content includes GW and GW-BSE calculations using BerkeleyGW on solids and low-dimensional materials, quasiparticle band structures, optical spectra including electron-hole interactions, analysis of excitons, etc. 

9th BerkeleyGW Tutorial Workshop Schedule: Link

Some exercises and resources from previous Workshops can be found at: https://berkeleygw.org/documentation/

Learn more about BerkeleyGW at: https://berkeleygw.org/

Berkeley Excited States Conference (BESC2023)

In tandem to the annual BerkeleyGW Workshop, we will host a two-day annual conference (in-person/virtual bybrid): the Berkeley Excited States Conference 2023 (BESC2023).

Conference Time: February 16 - 17, 2023, Pacific Standard Time

Location: Cal State East Bay Oakland Center, Oakland, CA, USA

                 Zoom ID & password will be provided to registered participants only

BESC2023 will be a general topical conference with mainly invited talks by experts on recent progress in the theory and applications of ab initio study of quantum many-body effects as well as experiments in excited-state phenomena in materials, showcasing forefront research that involves advanced many-body approaches (e.g., GW, GW-BSE & beyond, DMFT, quantum Monte Carlo, TDDFT, TDGW, etc.), novel experiments, and new science in the excited states.

Hotel recommendations (near the events venue):

BESC2023 Program and Schedule: Link

BESC 2023 Invited Speakers:

Antonios Alvertis (LBNL)

Yang-Hao Chan (Academia Sinica)

Yu He (Yale University)

Jingwei Jiang (UC Berkeley)

Leeor Kronik (Weizmann Institute of Science)

Francesco Mauri (Sapienza Università di Roma)

Bartomeu Monserrat (University of Cambridge)

Yuan Ping (UC Santa Cruz)

Su-Ying Quek (National University of Singapore )

Archana Raja (LBNL)

Sivan Refaely-Abramson (Weizmann Institute of Science)

Gianluca Stefanucci (University of Rome Tor Vergata)

David Strubbe (UC Merced)

Liang Z. Tan (LBNL)

Priya Vashishta (University of Southern California)

Vojtech Vlcek (UC Santa Barbara)

Feng Wang (UC Berkeley/LBNL)

Bryan M. Wong (UC Riverside)

Xiaodong Xu (University of Washington)

Jia Yin (LBNL)


You may register for the Tutorial Workshop and/or BESC2023 Conference using the link below (Google Form). The registration is free.

Note: We will provide training accounts and computation resources on NERSC for the hands-on session. In-person attendees receive full instructional support during the hands-on session.

Both events are sponsored by DOE’s Center for Computational Study of Excited-State Phenomena in Energy Materials (C2SEPEM). Learn more at: https://c2sepem.lbl.gov/

The 2023 Organizing Committee

Steven G. Louie, Chair (UC Berkeley and LBNL)

Mauro Del Ben (LBNL)

Jack R. Deslippe (LBNL)

Felipe H. da Jornada (Stanford University)

Zhenglu Li (University of Southern California)

Jeffrey B. Neaton (UC Berkeley and LBNL)

Diana Y. Qiu (Yale University)

David A. Strubbe (UC Merced)